1776 (2013)

Music and Lyrics by
Sherman Edwards
Book by
Peter Stone

Directed by
Maggie Ryan
Musical Direction by
Charlie Mueller
Choreography by
Zoe Vonder Haar

It’s the summer of 1776, and the nation is ready to declare independence, if only our founding fathers can agree to do it! 1776 follows John Adams of Massachusetts, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, and Richard Henry Lee and Thomas Jefferson of Virginia as they attempt to convince the members of the second Continental Congress to vote for independence from the shackles of the British monarchy by signing the Declaration of Independence. Winner of three Tony Awards, including Best Music.

Join Paul Balfe, 1776‘s Dramaturg, for a brief overview and Q&A session before the show, on June 27th at 7:15 PM as well as June 30 and July 7 at 1:15 PM.

Show Dates:

    Wed, 26 Jun 2013

    Thu, 27 Jun 2013

    Fri, 28 Jun 2013

    Sat, 29 Jun 2013

    Sun, 30 Jun 2013

    Tue, 02 Jul 2013

    Wed, 03 Jul 2013

    Fri, 05 Jul 2013

    Sat, 06 Jul 2013

    Sun, 07 Jul 2013


    John Hancock (President)
    GP Hunsaker

    Dr. Josiah Bartlett (New Hampshire)
    Tyler Linke

    John Adams (Massachusetts)
    Martin Fox

    Stephen Hopkins (Rhode Island)
    Joneal Joplin*

    Roger Sherman (Connecticut)
    Troy Turnipseed

    Lewis Morris (New York)
    Matt Huber

    Robert Livingston (New York)
    Joey Otradovec

    Rev. John Witherspoon (New Jersey)
    Ken Haller

    Benjamin Franklin (Pennsylvania)
    Tom Murray*

    John Dickinson (Pennsylvania)
    Christopher Hickey*

    James Wilson (Pennsylvania)
    Michael Brightman

    Caesar Rodney (Delaware)
    Charles Heuvelman

    Col. Thomas McKean (Delaware)
    Jim Leibrecht

    George Read (Delaware)
    Greg Cuellar

    Samuel Chase (Maryland)
    Adam Stefo

    Richard Henry Lee (Virginia)
    Michael Amoroso

    Thomas Jefferson (Virginia)
    Peter Meredith

    Joseph Hewes (North Carolina)
    Paul Balfe

    Edward Rutledge (South Carolina)
    Matt Pentecost

    Dr. Lyman Hall (Georgia)
    Zack Stefiank

    Charles Thomson (Congressional Secretary)
    Kent Coffel

    Andrew McNair (Congressional Custodian)
    Tom Wethington

    A Leather Apron
    Joe Kercher

    Charlie Ingram

    Abigail Adams
    Janine Burmeister

    Martha Jefferson
    Taylor Pietz

Photos by John Lamb

Donate to Insight

Subscribe to Insight News

Enter your email address to subscribe to news about Insight Theatre Company and receive notifications by email.